waiting in queues and feeling peckish-lah

So i’ve been in singapore for a full two days now, and it’s been quite the rush. I’m slowly learning the in’s and out’s of this island city of a nation. They use funny words such as queue and peckish and drive on the other side of the road…it’s as if i’ve been transported to london except everyone is asian! Quite strange-lah that too everyone adds lah to the end of everything… lah this lah that. Oh singapore your surprises never cease. 

So, other than strange phrases what else have I discovered? why food of course! as with every asian country the food is delicious and quite plentiful. I’m not sure how they managed to jam so much stuff onto such a tiny island but i must commend them on that. But yes back to the important things…food. So I know one thing for sure while i’m here in singapore is that i’ll never starve, no matter where you turn there will be a restaurant, a bakery, or a 7-11 nearby. it’s almost as plentiful as there are shopping malls…and even with that there are always food courts IN the shopping centers. So what have I been eating so far? lemme show you.

And what is that i am drinking there you ask? Well i’m glad you asked! cause it is none other than….

JOY JUICE!!! not any joy juice..kickapoo joy juice! huh…sounds kinda wrong…but it’s pretty delicious…and my favorite part?

if you can’t read that it says “permitted food conditioners” I think it’s that special ingredient that makes this drink so delicious…and joyful! 

So that’s my adventure in singapore so far. I have to thank a few people though… (feels like an award show..) so I’d like to thank all my friends…for giving me such awesome goodbyes before i left and also to take with me=) if you don’t know what i’m talking about hopefully i’ll get some video up here sometime soon…you guys also deserve your own post which should come soon hopefully. I would also like to thank my new friend (yes! i made a friend here!) Dawn who has been a wonderful guide and companion during my first few days here in singapore! Oh and soon i’ll be legal here in singapore when i finally get my Student pass! wow everything is just flying and it’s only the second day! 

So God has been good to me so far in singapore i’m excited to see what He has in store for me next! 

~ by myusings on August 15, 2008.

6 Responses to “waiting in queues and feeling peckish-lah”

  1. wats a joy juice? wat does it taste like?

  2. HI JERRY! i’m sad i did not get to say goodbye =( so here it is…. goodbye…

    haha… anyway, you still owe me that coffee from who knows how long ago! thus our paths will for sure cross again 🙂

  3. i hope the permitted food conditioners have not gotten to your brain

  4. why are there two pairs of chopsticks and two spoons

  5. sup bro!
    is that hokkien mee? =D

  6. myusings…you think ur sooooo clever.

    joy juice eh? that’s some dirty pop.

    booyah! IM clever!


    bye.

Leave a comment